Patient Centered Medical Home

The Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) is an approach to providing comprehensive primary care for children, youth, and adults. The PCMH is a healthcare setting that facilitates partnerships between individual patients, and their personal physicians, and when appropriate, the patient’s family.

In becoming a patient centered medical home, the primary care practice is redesigned around the needs of the patient.  Processes are put into place and electronic tools are used to assure patients receive the right care at the right time and to coordinate the care provided by different specialists in different settings. 

A healthcare team partners with the patient to create an individualized plan of care. Patients are provided with all the support needed to follow their treatment plans and to adopt healthy habits. The medical home model is expected to lower healthcare costs by preventing costly complications and hospitalizations.

Characteristics of the Patient Centered Medical Home

The Joint Principles of the Patient Centered Medical Home identifies 7 key characteristics:

PCMH House 

1.  Personal Physician
2.  Physician Directed Medical Care Team
3.  Whole Person Care
4.  Care is Coordinated/Integrated Across the Health Care System and the Community
5.  Quality and Safety are Hallmarks
6.  Enhanced Access to Care
7.  Payment Recognizes the Added Value to Patients


Michigan Definition of PCMH

A consensus definition of PCMH for use in Michigan was created in 2009.  The definition is the Joint Principles of the Patient Centered Medical Home with four additional footnotes.  Click here to see the definition and a list of the organizations endorsing the definition.


Medical Home Recognition

  • NCQA:  The voluntary Physician Recognition Program recognizes high-performing physicians and practices in key areas of clinical quality and care coordination.  Practices are evaluated on nine standards.  There are three levels of medical home recognition. For more information on the 2008 program click here. For an overview of the 2011 program click here.

  • Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan: The Physician Group Incentive Programe (PGIP) designates practices that have implemented infrastructure and essential processes in 12 domains to enhance provision of patient centered care. Click here for more information.